Pokemon Silver – Chapter 5

Click here to read chapter 4

Welcome back to my Pokemon Silver Let’s Play! Sorry about not posting anything in, like, two weeks. I’ve been rather busy with school. Also, in my off time, I’ve been obsessively watching Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure. I’m all caught up with the anime now. I’ll read the anime at some point. Oh, and I’ve also been playing Attack on Titan: Wings of Freedom. It’s a really great game. I’m so happy with it.

But none of that is important. Let’s get into the Let’s Play!

pokemon_-_silver_version_02

The first thing I aspired to do today was win the bug catching contest. I had read on the internet that catching a Scyther or a Pinsir basically guaranteed a win, so I wasn’t all that worried about whether or not I would win.

I should have been worried.

pokemon_-_silver_version_03

It wasn’t difficult to find a Scyther. Catching it, however, was the hard part.

pokemon_-_silver_version_04

Eventually I managed to snag it. I immediately headed back to the guy at the gate, feeling as though my victory was assured.

I was so naïve.

pokemon_-_silver_version_06

My Scyther won me nothing.

pokemon_-_silver_version_07

No matter, let’s just do it again. I loaded up my save state and set out to win.

pokemon_-_silver_version_08

God hates me.

pokemon_-_silver_version_09

Perhaps this Butterfree will do?

Of course, it didn’t do. On my third try, however…

pokemon_-_silver_version_10

…my Pinsir won.

pokemon_-_silver_version_11

Mission accomplished.

pokemon_-_silver_version_12

And now to reap the rewards.

pokemon_-_silver_version_13pokemon_-_silver_version_14

Look at how pretty Lily is now.

Anyway, with the bug catching contest finished, my next goal was to get to Ecruteak City. However, before I could get there, I had to pick up an item.

pokemon_-_silver_version_15

The lady in the flower store in Goldenrod gave me a watering can for defeating Whitney. I don’t know why it’s called a squirtbottle when it’s really just a watering can, but whatever.

pokemon_-_silver_version_16

The route north of Goldenrod was blocked by this tree. I watered it.

pokemon_-_silver_version_17pokemon_-_silver_version_18

Well I would assume not. I wouldn’t like it either if I was just relaxing and all of a sudden someone started pouring water on me.

pokemon_-_silver_version_19

Man, this sprite is kinda terrifying.

I fought some trainers on the way to Ecruteak. Spicy boi grew to level 22, which is nice.

pokemon_-_silver_version_20pokemon_-_silver_version_21

We made it to Ecruteak!

pokemon_-_silver_version_22

Also, I randomly ran into Bill in the Pokemon center. He said some stuff about being able to transfer Pokemon from the older games before running off to star on a radio show. Cool.

pokemon_-_silver_version_23

Well, I guess we’ll start with exploring the burned tower.

pokemon_-_silver_version_24pokemon_-_silver_version_25

Sounds mysterious.

pokemon_-_silver_version_26

Nah, I think I’ll go in anyway. Fight the power.

pokemon_-_silver_version_27

What a pretty tower. Doesn’t look all that burned, though.

pokemon_-_silver_version_28

Look who was waiting for me inside! I forgot he was there!

pokemon_-_silver_version_29

Of course he does. Can’t we ever just have a friendly discussion over tea?

pokemon_-_silver_version_30

Luckily, Kacchan was a rather easy opponent. His pokemon were about the same level as mine, but I managed to pull through due to type advantages.

pokemon_-_silver_version_31

Wow Kacchan, no need to be a sore loser.

pokemon_-_silver_version_32

With the burned tower mostly explored, I set out to conquer the gym. I have no idea what level the pokemon there will be, but Leviathan knows a dark more, so it should be okay.

pokemon_-_silver_version_33

After a few battles, Buzz, Kaepora, and Lily all reached level 22. I decided to move Leviathan to the front of my party in preparation for the gym leader fight. Again, Leviathan knows bite, which is a dark type move, and dark type moves are super effective against ghost types.

pokemon_-_silver_version_34

Well, thank you for having me.

pokemon_-_silver_version_35pokemon_-_silver_version_36

You worship them as gods? That seems a little excessive.

pokemon_-_silver_version_37pokemon_-_silver_version_38pokemon_-_silver_version_39

So I guess I’m gonna see a legendary pokemon? *puts on sunglasses while smirking*

pokemon_-_silver_version_40pokemon_-_silver_version_41

It’s good to have goals. They motivate you.

pokemon_-_silver_version_42pokemon_-_silver_version_43

You can see ghosts, huh? That seems pretty cool.

pokemon_-_silver_version_45pokemon_-_silver_version_46pokemon_-_silver_version_47

Wait, you can see the future? Dude, that’s awesome. Let’s win the lottery together.

pokemon_-_silver_version_48pokemon_-_silver_version_49

Well you’re certainly cocky. Guess I’ll have to teach you a lesson.

pokemon_-_silver_version_50

And so, the battle began.

pokemon_-_silver_version_51

I didn’t have much trouble until he sent out a Gengar. The Gengar knew hypnosis and dream eater, which caused Leviathan to faint. No matter, Mikasa will finish the job.

pokemon_-_silver_version_52

I meant to say Buzz. Buzz will finish the job.

pokemon_-_silver_version_53

Are you serious right now?

pokemon_-_silver_version_54

Kaepora I swear to God if you die-

pokemon_-_silver_version_55

Please don’t let this be my first loss in the series.

pokemon_-_silver_version_56

It’s gonna be my first loss, isn’t it?

pokemon_-_silver_version_57

DANGIT.

Well, after getting completely destroyed by Morty, I set out to grind some. His Gengar was level 25, so I decided to get my entire team to level 25 as well, which took longer than expected. The things I do for you guys….

pokemon_-_silver_version_58

On the bright side, Leviathan learned dragon rage while I was grinding. That dragon move will certainly help me out at some point in the future.

pokemon_-_silver_version_59

Alright Morty, I’m back for round two.

pokemon_-_silver_version_60

I lost again.

After losing twice, I decided to rethink my strategy. My new plan was to attack his haunters with a pokemon that wasn’t Leviathan. Once he brought out his Gengar, I would send out Leviathan to do as much damage as possible. Also, another key part of my strategy was that this time I would switch out a pokemon as soon as they got put to sleep. After all, dream eater restores health in addition to doing considerable damage.

pokemon_-_silver_version_61

Whew, I finally did it. Leviathan fainted, though, which sucks.

pokemon_-_silver_version_62

My next stop was the Ecruteak dance theater, where I would battle the five kimono girls. According to seribii.net, this would get me the HM for surf.

pokemon_-_silver_version_63

Alright kimono girls, let’s dance.

See what I did there? Yeah, I know it was terrible. Anyway, Buzz reached level 26 during the five battles.

pokemon_-_silver_version_64

This guy gave me the HM for surf, which I promptly taught to Leviathan. He finally has a water type move.

pokemon_-_silver_version_65

My next stop was the Ruins of Alph. I really want a moonstone.

pokemon_-_silver_version_66

Time to go surfing. Ignore the fact that that’s a Lapras sprite. I promise, it’s actually just my Gyarados.

pokemon_-_silver_version_67

Look guys, I made a picture. Can we hang it on the fridge?

pokemon_-_silver_version_69

Turns out I still can’t get the moonstone. This guy gave me the TM containing rock smash though, which is pretty cool. I taught it to Mikasa. It replaced double kick as her fighting move. Speaking of Mikasa, by the way, she reached level 26 while I was exploring the ruins.

pokemon_-_silver_version_70

Time to explore the burned tower more thoroughly.

pokemon_-_silver_version_71

Dangit, I don’t have strength yet.

pokemon_-_silver_version_72

Maybe this side of the tower will yield more interesting results.

pokemon_-_silver_version_73

That trainer had a Charmeleon. That’s actually pretty cool. Also, the battles throughout the tower got both Leviathan and Kaepora up to level 26, which is also pretty cool.

pokemon_-_silver_version_75

*Gasp* I found the legendary dogs!

pokemon_-_silver_version_76

And they’re gone. Oh well. Guess I gotta go find them.

Anyway, that’s it for this chapter of Pokemon Silver. Join me next time as I travel to the next city! I can’t actually remember what the next city is! It’s been way too long since I played Soul Silver!

Leave a Reply

